Tuesday, November 07, 2006

Bill Holman - A View From The Side (1995)

Woodwinds: Lanny Morgan, Bill Perkins, Pete Christlieb, Ray Herrmann, Bob Efford
Trumpets: Carl Saunders, Frank Szabo, Ron Stout, Bob Summers
Trombones: Jack redmond, Bob Enevoldsen, Andy Martin, Kenny Shroyer
Rhythm: Rich Eames (piano), Dave Carpenter (bass), Bob Leatherbarrow (drums), Doug MacDonald (guitar, 4 & 5 only)

1. No Joy in Mudville
2. Any Dude'll Do
3. But Beautiful
4. Petaluma Lu
5. I Didn't Ask
6. Make My Day
7. Peacocks
8. View From the Side
9. Tennessee Waltz

"Although he never seems to win any popularity polls, Bill Holman is among the most respected and unique arrangers of the last 40 years of the 20th century. This CD features his band of the mid-'90s, an outfit that includes many of the top Los Angeles-based musicians. Holman's writing is often colorfully overcrowded (rewarding repeated listenings) yet logical, with the charts progressing and developing from beginning to end rather than repeating the same basic ideas continuously. Whether it be the many complex themes of "No Joy in Mudville," the showcases for tenor saxophonist Pete Christlieb ("But Beautiful") and Bob Efford's bass clarinet ("The Peacocks"), the very advanced "Make My Day," or the rebuilding of "Tennessee Waltz," this JVC release is a consistently memorable set from a masterful arranger who deserves much greater recognition in the jazz world."


six-by-six said...


xulio said...

That album is amazing!!!! thanks!

tromba said...

This link is dead -- can you reupload? Thanks.