Friday, October 06, 2006

McCoy Tyner Big Band - The Turning Point (1992)

Kamau Adilifu, Earl Gardner, Virgil Jones - trumpets, Steve Turre, Frank Lacy - trombones, John Clark - French horn & hornette, Howard Johnson - tuba, Doug Harris, Joe Ford, John Stubblefield, Junior Cook - winds, McCoy Tyner - piano, Avery Sharpe - bass, Aaron Scott - drums, Jerry Gonzales - percussion.

1. Passion Dance
2. Let It Go
3. High Priest
4. Angel Eyes
5. Fly With The Wind
6. Update
7. In A Sentimental Mood

"This recording may not have been an actual "turning point" in pianist McCoy Tyner's productive career but its success gave momentum to his big band. Although only a part-time affair, Tyner's orchestra (seven brass, four reeds and a four-piece rhythm section) is considered one of the major jazz big bands of the 1990s, a perfect outlet for the leader's percussive and modal-oriented piano. With arrangements by Tyner, Dennis Mackrel, Slide Hampton, Steve Turre and Howard Johnson, many of these performances are quite powerful."


six-by-six said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
six-by-six said...

The Turning Point