Monday, September 18, 2006

Maynard Ferguson - Let's Face The Music And Dance (1960)

Roulette SR 52055

1. Let's Face The Music And Dance
2. Teach Me Tonight
3. Mango's
4. The Party's Over
5. It Could Happen To You
6. You Don't Know What Love Is
7. It's Only A Paper Moon
8. The Masquerade Is Over
9. My Foolish Heart
10. Don't Take Your Love From Me
11. Spring Is Here
12.Let's Do It

Liner notes:

Let's Face The Music And Dance is a perfect vehicle for the Maynard Ferguson Orchestra....Showcasing Maynard on trumpet, valve trombone and mellophone, the big band does noble justice to twelve of America's great standard tunes - prepared in 'the Ferguson manner' ...plenty good jazz - yet maintaining a solid dance beat....The tunes were carefully chosen to balance a 'good old time' dance party from "fox trot" to "madison." Maynard Ferguson, the young man with the golden horn, already a trumpet playing legend in his own lifetime, leads a fabulous sounding orchestra that is well on its way to becoming legendary in its own right.


six-by-six said...

Anonymous said...

just like to thank you for all.these records are of great value for the maynard lovers and all the trumpet players.

Musicas e Metodos said...

obrigado pelo poster..

Musicas e Metodos said...

postar novamente o link..